Open Source RDBMS - Seamless, Scalable, Stable and Free

한국어 | Login |Register

author

Post subject: CUBRID MySQL PHP Compatibility library

IP: *.254.3.158

views: 54

Hi,
I red documentation about this library, but I do not undersatnd WHY Cubrid developer do not create a library with the same function (name and parameter/s) to use current PHP application with Cubrid instead MySql.
Than the layer, instead of
1) my php application developed for Mysql
2) Php Mysql library
3) Mysql

the new layer

2) CUBRID MySQL BRidge (here present the funciont mysql_ binded for Cubrid that call CUBRID MySQL PHP Compatibility library or call directly Cubrid)
3) CUBRID MySQL PHP Compatibility library
3) Cubrid

This is a real case : I'm a normal user of Joomla (for example) and I 'm NOT a developer and I want to use CUBRID instead MYsql.
Ok, not problem .. You do not touch NOTHING in your source code (remember that I'm not a developer and I'd not understand WHATI si a connector for db or resulset or...), load Joomla, load Cubrid MYsql PHP bridge and use it.
I understand that this task is not easy but; for my point of view, is a main key for Cubrid to grow up fastly

This is my opinion
Thank you

[Level:3]eye

# Post subject:Re: CUBRID MySQL PHP Compatibility library

IP: *.130.102.218

Hi quartex,

You are absolutely right! This is what we also want to have! But as you know we are database developers, moreover open source developers. We highly rely on our Developers Community to build new web apps or port existing to work with CUBRID. PHP, Ruby, Perl, and Python libraries have to be developed in the most easiest and convenient for the users way, so that anyone could start using PHP/... with CUBRID right out of the box. This is what we truly want, quartex!